Food + drink (restaurant reviews) · Sydney · Sydney · Travel

Hello Fresh – review of the Classic box

I’m sure most of you Sydneysiders have come across, in one form or another, promotions for Hello Fresh.  Simply put, Hello Fresh is a company that delivers ingredients and recipe cards for dinner to your doorstep, so that busy-you doesn’t have to go grocery shopping.

I’d been fascinated by the idea behind Hello Fresh for a long while, but at a starting price of $69 a box for 3 meals for 2 people, this was a little beyond my price range.  Finally, I came across a promotion on Groupon: $45 for 2 boxes (i.e. 2 weeks), each having 3 meals for 2 people.  Great deal (considering the starting price), so I purchased it straight away!

I received my first delivery tonight and was so excited that straight after I opened my box, I couldn’t wait to share it with everyone and am now blogging about it!

Here’s how my experience went:

1.   The website has recipes for the coming week.  The recipes are fixed, so I held out until the week where I liked the look of all of the recipes (it didn’t take long, I waited 2 weeks).  There is the option of choosing the classic box (with meat) or vegetarian box.  I chose the classic box and my meals for the week are:

  • Moroccan Summer salad;
  • Coconut poached prawns with rice noodles; and
  • Lemongrass beef with rice.

2. Wednesday is the cut off day for orders for the coming week so I placed my order last Wednesday.

3.  I received confirmation of my order and was advised the delivery would take place on Tuesday.

4.  A few days ago, I received an email advising of the window in which my food box would be delivered.

Email I received with the scheduled delivery time
Email I received with the scheduled delivery time

5.  A few days ago, I received a friendly SMS from the Hello Fresh team which gave me a phone number to call if I had any issues with my food box , or if I was stuck while cooking the recipes.

6.  I received my food box at 4:45pm, 15 minutes ahead of the scheduled delivery window.

7.  I opened my food box, and this is what I found!  (Yes, there are a lot of photos – I went happy snapping!)

I arrived home to find this. Couldn't wait to open my food box present!
I arrived home to find this. Couldn’t wait to open my food box present!

 

The food box revealed!
The food box revealed!

 

Contents of the food box
Contents of the food box

 

Close up of the veggies and carbs in the food box
Close up of the veggies and carbs in the food box

 

Meat packed in an esky with ice pack
Meat packed in a foam esky with ice pack

 

Everything in my food box
Everything in my food box

 

Closeup of the meat in my food box
Closeup of some of the goodies in my food box

 

Closeup of more of the meat in my food box
Closeup of some meat in my food box

 

Esky and ice pack for the meat
Foam esky and ice pack for the meat

 

Bag of goodies - spices and rice
Little bag of goodies – spices and rice

 

Inside my bag of goodies
Inside my bag of goodies

 

Recipe cards
Recipe cards

 

Closeup of a recipe card. The recipes are also on the Hello Fresh site
Closeup of a recipe card. The recipes are also on the Hello Fresh site

 

Back of the recipe card
Back of the recipe card

In my excitement of looking at the ingredients, taking photos, writing this blog post, I haven’t cooked any of the recipes yet.  So far I LOVE my food box and I cannot wait to cook it!  It’s so handy, the team at Hello Fresh have really paid attention to the detail!  I love how so many little packs of ingredients have been included.  Also love the detailed fool-proof recipe cards complete with pictures of ingredients and steps – with these, anyone can cook!

Although I love the box, I have to admit I would not purchase it at its full $69.  It saves grocery shopping for dinner – but I would need to do grocery shopping for all my other weekly necessities, so the price of the box would only be for the convenience of having 3 dinners a week sorted.

Stay tuned for when I do end up cooking the recipes!

Rating (so far):
Rating (with price taken into account):
https://www.hellofresh.com.au/

Leave a Reply

