Beauty · Sydney · Travel

Merry Mecca Christmas + my 3 selfie sticks explained

Last Monday, Mecca Cosmetica and Mecca Maxima (only my favourite make up and skin care store in Australia ever!) launched their exciting Christmas collection.

Luckily, or unluckily, a chain of events had happened recently:

  • My previous 2 selfie sticks had broken (I cannot believe they are such bad quality! I didn’t even use the purple one  once!! Lesson learnt – never buy selfie sticks on ebay. Photo proof is at the end of this post…because they are so ugly that if I had included the photo upfront, people might close out of my blog straight away. *end rant*).
  • My current Nars creamy radient concelear was running out. In fact, I had been desperately scraping the sides of the concealer stick with the concealer wand to get the last bit of concealer out, for the past 2 weeks.
  • I got a shock when, out of curiousity, I decided to twist open my retractable Two Faced Perfect Spice lip liner (that I had bought less than 2 months ago) to see how much was left, and discovered there was 0.5cm left!
  • And less dramatically,  I had run out of my go-to HG moisturiser, Darphin’s Hydraskin Light.

So naturally, it was time to stock up on all of the above, just in time as Mecca released its Christmas goodies.

My lovely new pink selfie stick, gift card plus free full size lip product!
My lovely new pink selfie stick, gift card plus free full size Mecca Lip De Luscious SPF 25 lip balm!

 

Onto the selfie sticks…
To my surprise, they sold selfie sticks for $10! Plus, they were pink – bonus! I rushed into Mecca Maxima in the Queen Victoria Building during my lunch break on Monday to purchase yet another selfie stick – got there at 12:30pm and there were only 3 left! I checked online straight after – released at 9:30am and gone by 12:30pm.

There was also a Christmas promotion – receive a free full size Mecca Lip De Luscious SPF 25 limited edition Christmas lip balm with the purchase of a $50 gift card (which I used the very next hour to purchase the items below!).

I’d had my eyes set on Yves Saint Laurent’s Touche Éclat concealer for a while and the Christmas set came with a free mini Mascara Volume Effet Faux Cils – great value, so I had to get it! Turns out the store didn’t stock it and luckily I snapped it up online, because by 2pm, they were all sold out online.

YSL Touche Eclat Christmas gift set - with mini Mascara
YSL Touche Éclat Christmas gift set – with mini Mascara Volume Effet Faux Cils

I also got a refill of Darphin’s Hydraskin Light, and By Terry’s Crayon Levres Terrybly lip liner in the colour Rose Contour – which I had been desperately wanting for the past 4 months. As I was running out of all these essentials, I felt that this was a justified purchase.

My lovely parcel arrived 3 days from when I placed the order and it was such a pretty parcel, I saved the unboxing for the weekend.

Unboxing my Mecca arrival
Unboxing my Mecca arrival
The surprises await...
The surprises await…
Words cannot explain how much I love these products and samples!
Words cannot explain how much happy I was when I opened this box! L to R: Origins Gin Zeng mask deluxe sample, Darphin Hydraskin Light, By Terry Baume de Rose sample, YSL Touche Eclat Christmas special with mini Mascara Volume Effet Faux Cils, Verso super eye serum sample, Malin + Goetz Rum body wash sample, By Terry Crayon Levres Terrybly in Rose Contour
Demise of the selfie sticks
Demise of the selfie sticks

Mecca Cosmetica and Mecca Maxima
Rating:
Location: various
http://mecca.com.au/

Leave a Reply

