Beauty

Make up application at Chanel

Special events are the perfect excuse for having your make up done professionally. It’s been a while since I had an event to attend, so when one came up, I was super excited to test out Chanel Beaute.

Chanel Beaute
Chanel Beaute

I’ve had my make-up done at Mecca for the past 2yrs+ (my profile photo features Mecca artistry), and whilst they are amazing, I thought I would try something new and see the “Chanel look” on  myself. Online consensus is that different make-up houses train their make-up artists differently, resulting in each house having its own style, regardless of the make-up artist.

I was a little early, so I had some time to look through the beautiful boutique.

Lots of perfume!
Lots of perfume!
The perfume station
The perfume station

My make-up artist, Ashlea, promptly greeted me when my appointment was scheduled to commence. I asked for a “daytime lunch” look and we had a brief chat where we both decided on the look we would try to create. I asked for dewy skin and a red lip, and Ashlea recommended a natural looking eye with a weaker powder liner and shades of silver eyeshadow, to balance out the strong lip. She also recommended a coral-red lip with a glossy finish (which would work better than a blue-red lip on my skin tone). I rarely use silver eyeshadow, or lip gloss…let alone a powder eyeliner, so I was intrigued as to how it would turn out. I could tell that Ashlea was a professional, so I put my trust in her and let her take charge.

The make up station
The make up station

First up, prepping my skin for the make-up. A total of 8 products were applied on my skin! By the end of it, my skin was marinating in all the expensive products. Ashlea took me through each of the products as she applied them, explained the ingredients and how they target the skin.

My face is a million bucks after being marinated in a total of 8 skincare products.
My face is a million bucks after being marinated in a total of 8 skincare products.

Then, time for the make-up. When it came to my eyes…let me tell you, I am OBSESSED with winged liner and creating a cat-eye. No matter what look I create – it has to feature my beloved winged liner. When the powder liner was applied, it was not winged or sharp! I insisted on a winged liner but was told the winged liner plus red lip would be too bold – and I’m so glad Ashlea stuck by her words and stayed away from a sharp gel winged liner, because the results were amazing!

Products used on me...
Products used on me…
...and more products used on me.
…and more products used on me.

I don’t normally wear bold lipsticks, so I was a little shocked when the lipstick and gloss was first applied – but after a few minutes, I loved it.

The finished look! Daytime glam with a bold red lip.
The finished look! Daytime glam with a bold red lip.

If I were to summarise what the “Chanel look” is, picture French ladies with their make-up perfectly applied just the right amount of rouge, and a traditional red lip colour. It’s a very classic, pretty look that accentuates your natural features, without being OTT.

The completed look - side view
The completed look – side view

The session took around 1 hour. The session is redeemable for product – my Chanel Le Lift eye cream was my little take home present to remind me of this wonderful, luxurious experience!

Chanel Le Lift eye cream and a sample of the new Chanel No 5 fragrance
Chanel Le Lift eye cream and a sample of the new Chanel No 5 fragrance
One thought on “Make up application at Chanel

Leave a Reply

